You are currently viewing Astronomy Calendar of January 2022

Astronomy Calendar of January 2022

If you are someone who likes to chase after the events of the night sky, this article is for you. There are some major astronomical events to look forward to as we enter the new year. Here is the astronomy calendar of January 2022 –

  • January 2 – Asteroid 20 Massalia at Opposition
  • January 3-4 – Lunar Occultation of Uranus
  • January 17 – The Alpha Centauri Meteor Shower
  • January 21 – Venus at its Best
  • January 29 – The conjunction of Venus and Mars

Watch this video for the complete visual explanation of the astronomy calendar of January 2022 –

Or continue reading…

New Moon- January 2

The moon will officially reach its new phase this Sunday. It will be located in Sagittarius at 1:33 p.m. EST or 18:33 GMT. It will become completely hidden from view for about a day. It will also result in large tides around the world.


Quadrantids Meteor Shower- January 3-4

This meteor shower will produce bright fireballs. It is derived from the asteroid called 2003EH. It produces up to 50-100 meteors per hour, when at peak. The peak is predicted to occur on Monday. Eastern Asia will have the best show before dawn on Tuesday. The peak will occur at 21:00 GMT or 4:00 p.m. EST. As a bonus, the night will be moonless.


Full Wolf Moon- January 17

Full Wolf Moon (Astronomy Calendar of January 2022)
Full Wolf Moon

On Monday, the first full moon of the year will shine near the stars of Gemini or Cancer. This full moon is known by different names- Wolf Moon, Moon after Yule, or Old Moon. It will be visible at 6:48 p.m. EST or 23:48 GMT. The January full moon will appear smaller than those of the rest of the year. Native American and Colonial Americans named this full Moon as FULL WOLF MOON. This is because wolves were more likely to be heard howling at this time.

Read Also: 


The Pleiades- January 21

The group of cute little Seven Sisters also known as the Pleiades will be positioned high in the southern sky. The open star cluster is composed of medium-hot blue stars. Each star has a unique name- Asterope, Merope, Electra, Maia, Taygeta, Celaeno, and Alcyone. You can easily locate it. Just look above your head and a cozy group of star sisters will appear.


Moon With Mars And Venus- January 29

Moon With Mars And Venus
Moon With Mars And Venus

Early in the morning, the Moon will be in close proximity to Mars. Venus will also be visible along with these two. If you wake early, you’ll be able to locate the trio in the southeastern direction. The waning crescent moon will form a line with faint Mars and mighty Venus in the morning.


This is all for the first month of the year 2022. Here is the list of all astronomical events of February 2022.

Subscribe to our official YouTube channel to get 1 new video in every 2 days!

Leave a Reply